The Irish Times

Longlist for International Man Booker prize announced

The longlist for the International Man Booker prize has been announced with 13 authors and their 14 translators in contention for the £50,000 (€65,000) award.

It is the first time a longlist has been announced for the international version of the Man Booker which is now awarded annually on the basis of a single book.

Judges considered 155 books and the prize money will be divided between the author of the winning book and its translator.

The list includes books from 12 countries and nine languages while nominees include two Nobel Prize winners and two debut authors.

The Story of the Lost Child – Italy

Elena Ferrante

Translated by Ann Goldstein

Published by Europa Editions UK

The fourth and final instalment of the Neapolitan Novels series, The Story of the Lost Child is the saga of the friendship between two women: brilliant, bookish Elena and fiery, uncontainable Lila.